I told you I was an artist

Colleen Bryce

This time last year I spent the day at the StAnza poetry festival in St Andrew’s. Following from that Eleanor Livingstone, the Festival Director, has very kindly made me their Artist in Residence for 2011.

Poet Linton Kwesi-Johnson in his dressing room

After shooting 10 poet’s portraits last year it struck me how the central challenge of portraiture is to develop a relationship with the sitter. Each one produces a different dynamic, some more productive than others. It is this relationship that my residency is focusing on.

Leave a Reply

