Pecking Distance

 

In wildlife photography, never flinch. That’s the message from today’s pictures at Edinburgh Zoo…

This juvenile black stork is recovering from damaging its wing whilst on migration. And having stayed with a vet down in Jersey for a time he’s relatively used to human company. So used to people in fact that after a few minutes he walked within inches of me and then seeing his reflection, attacked my lens with a swift peck.

But, nerves getting the better of me, I ducked, missing the money shot. And having failed to eat me, he tried my camera bag instead.

Leave a Reply

